About NLMS


4894066612_b91819e28bThe New London Music Society was founded in 1981 by Terence Lovett and held its first residential music course at Wycombe Abbey in 1982. The Society also established a choir and orchestra which gave regular concerts in London and the Home Counties. Following the death of the Founder early in 1993, the Society was pleased to welcome Philip Meaden as Director. In 1999 the Summer School was moved from Wycombe Abbey to Queenswood School and in 2002 reverted to its original name. In 2019, the school moved to a new venue, Downe House School, near Newbury in Berkshire.

The society also runs a string quartet weekend in the Leeds area, usually at Easter time.

The Society is grateful for the continued support of its President, The Earl Howe.

12th APRIL 2019 – SAD NEWS

It is with enormous sadness that we report the death of Charles Westendarp. This comes as a great shock. Charles was an important part of the Society for many years and it is difficult to imagine the Summer School without him. His unique personality will be greatly missed on many levels. Our thoughts go out to Charles’ family at this difficult time.

“Charles’s commitment to the summer school has been a great contribution to its success over the years,” said Steve Bingham, NLMS Course Director. “His exceptional work with Suzanne, work that he took very seriously and spent many hours on, will enable us to continue toward the organisation of the 2019 course as it moves to Downe House. Personally I will hugely miss his always upbeat take on things, and his sheer enthusiasm and willingness to help everyone.”

“Charles was a longstanding member of the Society, who will be remembered fondly by many,” said Philip Meaden, Chair of Trustees. “In addition to his much-valued personal and musical contributions, Charles latterly served as a Trustee and Committee member, bringing his powerful intellect and great experience of charities and amateur music-making to our deliberations. We will miss him.”


  • Chair of Trustees: Philip Meaden
  • Course Director: Steve Bingham
  • Secretary: Steve Walker
  • Administrator / Treasurer: Suzanne Meaden
  • Members’ Representatives: Lorraine Collins, Jacob Ashworth, Euan McCandless, Tessa Crilly
  • Librarian: Janice Twiselton
  • Registered Nurse: Arlene Brown
  • Honorary Members: Spencer Freeman MBE, Peggy Lewis

Course Director: Steve Bingham – stevebingham@me.com
Administrator: Suzanne Meaden – suzanne.meaden@gmail.com

Photographs: Steve Walker